University
Cardiff University
School: Welsh School of Architecture
Cardiff, United Kingdom

Overview
Public research university whose Welsh School of Architecture teaches RIBA-validated architecture degrees.
Architecture programs researched: 7 (plus 2 adjacent-subject programs). 4 with an accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record checked against the authority’s own listing.
Programs
Each program is listed with its official award, level, pathway classification, delivery and published tuition. Accreditation, fees, language and entry requirements belong to the program, not to the whole institution.
Bachelor’s degrees
BSc (Hons) in Architectural Studies
BSc (Hons) Architectural StudiesBachelor’sPre-professionalAccreditation / validation verified
On campusEnglishWelsh School of Architecture, King Edward VII Avenue
Tuition not published
BSc (Hons) Architecture (from 2025 intake)
Architecture (BSc)Bachelor’sPre-professionalAccreditation / validation verified
On campus3 years, full timeEnglishWelsh School of Architecture, King Edward VII Avenue
£9,790per year
Master’s degrees
Master of Architecture (MArch)
Master of Architecture (MArch), full-time work-basedMaster’sProfessionalAccreditation / validation verified
On campus2 years; first year predominantly in an architectural practice placementEnglishWelsh School of Architecture, King Edward VII Avenue
£4,895per year
Sustainable Building Conservation (MSc)
Sustainable Building Conservation (MSc)Master’sNot classified
On campusFull time (1 year); Part time (2 years)EnglishWelsh School of Architecture, King Edward VII Avenue
£12,450per year
Architecture and the Built Environment (MArch)
Architecture and the Built Environment (MArch)Master’sProfessionalAccreditation / validation verified
On campus2 yearsEnglishWelsh School of Architecture, King Edward VII Avenue
£9,790per year
Computational Methods in Architecture (MSc)
Computational Methods in Architecture (MSc)Master’sNot classified
On campus1 yearEnglishWelsh School of Architecture, King Edward VII Avenue
£12,700per year
Doctoral programs
Architecture (PhD/MPhil)
PhD/MPhil in ArchitecturePhDResearch
On campusPhD: three years full time or five years part time; MPhil: one year full time or two years part timeEnglishWelsh School of Architecture, King Edward VII Avenue
Tuition not published
Adjacent subjects (not architecture degrees)
Urban Design (MA)
Urban Design (MA)Master’sNot classifiedUrban design
On campus1 yearEnglishWelsh School of Architecture, King Edward VII Avenue
£12,950per year
Environmental Design of Buildings (MSc)
Environmental Design of Buildings (MSc)Master’sNot classifiedBuilding science
On campusFull time (1 year); Full time distance learning (1 year)EnglishWelsh School of Architecture, King Edward VII Avenue
£12,450per year
Campuses and facilities
Places where teaching actually happens. Studio, workshop, fabrication and computing facilities are stated per campus, only as published.
Welsh School of Architecture, King Edward VII Avenue
King Edward VII Avenue, Cardiff, CF10 3NB, Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Facilities not described on the pages we checked.
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded per program and campus, with the authority’s role. Accreditation, professional validation, degree-awarding authority and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration, and a qualification accepted in one jurisdiction is not automatically accepted elsewhere.
Master of Architecture (MArch)
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Program accreditationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture, master's-level accreditation from 4 August 2026 (course starts Sept 2026)
Dates: 4 August 2026 to not stated
The specific program is accredited by an accrediting body, for the campus, dates or cohorts stated.
Architecture and the Built Environment (MArch)
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Program accreditationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture Built Environment, master's-level accreditation from 1 September 2026
Dates: 1 September 2026 to not stated
The specific program is accredited by an accrediting body, for the campus, dates or cohorts stated.
BSc (Hons) in Architectural Studies
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 1 BSc (Hons) in Architectural Studies Part 1 BSc (Hons) Architecture (from 2025 intake)
A professional body has validated the course against its criteria. Validation is not the same as statutory registration.
BSc (Hons) Architecture (from 2025 intake)
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 1 BSc (Hons) Architecture (from 2025 intake)
A professional body has validated the course against its criteria. Validation is not the same as statutory registration.
Master of Architecture (MArch)
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2 MArch Part 3 Diploma/MA in Architecture: Professional Studies
A professional body has validated the course against its criteria. Validation is not the same as statutory registration.
BSc (Hons) in Architectural Studies
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Bachelor of Science in Architectural Studies Honours, Part 1, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027
The qualification is recognised as meeting the educational requirement toward registration in the stated jurisdiction. Full registration also needs the other steps the authority lists.
Master of Architecture (MArch)
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture, Part 2, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028
The qualification is recognised as meeting the educational requirement toward registration in the stated jurisdiction. Full registration also needs the other steps the authority lists.
Gallery

Photo: Shootthatsheep · CC BY-SA 4.0
Sources and verification
How this profile was verified
Facts come from the institution’s own pages and from official registers, each with a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Last checked 19 October 2026. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)
- Official website
- Architecture school website
- RIBA validated schools UK
- Architecture (BSc)
- Master of Architecture (MArch)
- Architecture and the Built Environment (MArch)
- Urban Design (MA)
- Computational Methods in Architecture (MSc)
- Sustainable Building Conservation (MSc)
- Environmental Design of Buildings (MSc)
- WSA postgraduate research
- ARB Schedule 1