Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (MArch)
Cardiff University · Welsh School of Architecture · Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Master of Architecture (MArch), full-time work-basedMArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus2 years; first year predominantly in an architectural practice placement
- Tuition
- £4,895per year, September 2027 start (year one)
About this program
Two-year full-time work-based MArch with a practice placement year followed by a thesis year, accredited per the page by RIBA (Part II), ARB and LAM.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Welsh School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page says the MArch is accredited by RIBA (Part II) and ARB and that Part 3 is needed to register.“Accredited by RIBA (part II), ARB and the Board of Architects in Malaysia (LAM).”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- ARB guidance: an applicant with UK Part 1 and Part 2 still needs a practice-level qualification (outgoing Part 3) to register.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | 2 years | – | 2:1 honours degree in architecture from a UK institution recognised by RIBA/ARB (or equivalent)Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Program accreditationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture, master's-level accreditation from 4 August 2026 (course starts Sept 2026)
Dates: 4 August 2026 to not stated
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2 MArch Part 3 Diploma/MA in Architecture: Professional Studies
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture, Part 2, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 2 years; first year predominantly in an architectural practice placement
- Internship or placement
- The first year is spent predominantly in architectural practice, on a placement to be secured before enrolling
- Intakes
- 27 September 2027
- Campus
- Welsh School of Architecture, King Edward VII AvenueKing Edward VII Avenue, Cardiff, CF10 3NB
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredPortfolio of design work, mainly final/graduation projects from the undergraduate architecture degree, uploaded as a PDF no larger than 10 MB.
- Interview
- Not published
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fees for home statusTuition | £4,895per year, September 2027 start (year one) | Fees for home status, year one | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Fees for home statusTuition | £9,790per year, September 2027 start (year two) | Fees for home status, year two | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Fees for overseas statusTuition | £15,850per year, September 2027 start (year one) | Fees for overseas status, year one | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Fees for overseas statusTuition | £31,700per year, September 2027 start (year two) | Fees for overseas status, year two | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)