Master’s degree
Architecture and the Built Environment (MArch)
Cardiff University · Welsh School of Architecture · Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Architecture and the Built Environment (MArch)MArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus2 years
- Tuition
- £9,790per year, September 2027 start
About this program
Two-year full-time MArch in which students choose a specialism in one of the school's built-environment research areas.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Welsh School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page says the programme is accredited by ARB and develops the skills needed to become an architect.“This programme is accredited by the Architects Registration Board (ARB).”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | 2 years | – | 2:1 honours degree in architecture from a UK institution recognised by RIBA/ARB (or equivalent)Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Program accreditationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture Built Environment, master's-level accreditation from 1 September 2026
Dates: 1 September 2026 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 2 years
- Intakes
- 27 September 2027
- Campus
- Welsh School of Architecture, King Edward VII AvenueKing Edward VII Avenue, Cardiff, CF10 3NB
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredPortfolio of design work, mainly final/graduation projects from the undergraduate architecture degree, as a PDF no larger than 10 MB.
- Interview
- Not published
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fees for home status, per yearTuition | £9,790per year, September 2027 start | Fees for home status | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Fees for overseas status, per yearTuition | £31,700per year, September 2027 start | Fees for overseas status | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)