Architecture Schools

University

University of Portsmouth

School: School of Architecture, Art and Design

Portsmouth, United Kingdom

Overview

Public university on the south coast of England whose School of Architecture, Art and Design offers RIBA-validated architecture courses.

Architecture programs researched: 2. 2 with an accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record checked against the authority’s own listing.

Programs

Each program is listed with its official award, level, pathway classification, delivery and published tuition. Accreditation, fees, language and entry requirements belong to the program, not to the whole institution.

Bachelor’s degrees

  • BA (Hons) Architecture

    BA (Hons) ArchitectureBachelor’sPre-professionalAccreditation / validation verified

    On campus3 years full-time; 4 years sandwich with work placementEnglishPortsmouth campus

    Tuition not published

Master’s degrees

  • MArch Architecture

    MArch ArchitectureMaster’sProfessionalAccreditation / validation verified

    On campus2 years full-time; 3 years part-time (the page also says 4 years part-time under course structure)EnglishPortsmouth campus

    Tuition not published

Campuses and facilities

Places where teaching actually happens. Studio, workshop, fabrication and computing facilities are stated per campus, only as published.

  • Portsmouth campus

    Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom

    Facilities not described on the pages we checked.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded per program and campus, with the authority’s role. Accreditation, professional validation, degree-awarding authority and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration, and a qualification accepted in one jurisdiction is not automatically accepted elsewhere.

  • BA (Hons) Architecture

    Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK

    Scope: Part 1 BA (Hons) in Architecture, University of Portsmouth

    A professional body has validated the course against its criteria. Validation is not the same as statutory registration.

  • MArch Architecture

    Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK

    Scope: Part 2 M.Arch, University of Portsmouth

    A professional body has validated the course against its criteria. Validation is not the same as statutory registration.

  • BA (Hons) Architecture

    Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK

    Scope: BA (Hons) Architecture Part 1 prescription; ARB Part 1 prescription ends 31 December 2027 per ARB list

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027

    The qualification is recognised as meeting the educational requirement toward registration in the stated jurisdiction. Full registration also needs the other steps the authority lists.

  • MArch Architecture

    Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK

    Scope: Master of Architecture Part 2 at University of Portsmouth (School of Architecture), ARB Schedule 1

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028

    The qualification is recognised as meeting the educational requirement toward registration in the stated jurisdiction. Full registration also needs the other steps the authority lists.

Sources and verification

How this profile was verified

Facts come from the institution’s own pages and from official registers, each with a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Last checked 19 October 2026. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction · Claim this profile