Architecture Schools

Bachelor’s degree

BA (Hons) Architecture

University of Portsmouth · School of Architecture, Art and Design · Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom

Official award
BA (Hons) ArchitectureBA
Pathway
Pre-professionalStated for United Kingdom
Format
On campus3 years full-time; 4 years sandwich with work placement
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Three-year (or four-year with work placement) architecture degree validated by RIBA at Part 1 level.

Subject
Architecture
Department
School of Architecture, Art and Design
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
Pathway
Pre-professionalA first stage. The source says further study or a further qualification is needed before registration or licensure.
Why we classify it this way
Page says the degree provides RIBA Part 1 exemption and that Master's level qualifications remain part of the route to registration.“This will not affect a student's ability to qualify as a UK architect, as the ARB will continue accrediting Master's level qualifications as part of the route to registration.”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK

    Scope: Part 1 BA (Hons) in Architecture, University of Portsmouth

  • Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK

    Scope: BA (Hons) Architecture Part 1 prescription; ARB Part 1 prescription ends 31 December 2027 per ARB list

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
3 years full-time; 4 years sandwich with work placement
Internship or placement
Optional 4-year route with work placement
Intakes
September 2027
Campus
Portsmouth campus

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Published language requirements
English language proficiency at a minimum of IELTS band 6.0 with no component score below 5.5.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio required
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
A levels ABB-BBB; UCAS points 120-128 to include a minimum of 3 A levels, or equivalent (September 2027 start)
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, whether a previous architecture degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction