Master’s degree
MArch Architecture
University of Portsmouth · School of Architecture, Art and Design · Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- MArch ArchitectureMArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus2 years full-time; 3 years part-time (the page also says 4 years part-time under course structure)
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Master's in architecture leading to RIBA and ARB Part 2 exemption, prescribed by ARB and validated by RIBA.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture, Art and Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page states the course is prescribed by ARB and validated by RIBA, giving Part 2 exemption; Part 3 follows.“This course is prescribed and recognised by the Architects Registration Board (ARB) and validated by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible to take the RIBA Part 3 qualification, which leads to ARB registration.Source
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2 M.Arch, University of Portsmouth
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture Part 2 at University of Portsmouth (School of Architecture), ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- 2 years full-time; 3 years part-time (the page also says 4 years part-time under course structure)
- Intakes
- September 2027
- Campus
- Portsmouth campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- English language proficiency at a minimum of IELTS band 6.5 (or equivalent) with no component score below 6.0.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredAll applicants will be invited to attend an interview or be asked to submit an online portfolio.
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- A minimum of a second-class honours degree in a related subject, or equivalent professional experience and/or qualifications.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)