Architecture Schools

University

The University of Hong Kong

Department: Department of Architecture, Faculty of Architecture

Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Overview

Public research university in Hong Kong whose Faculty of Architecture houses the Department of Architecture, which offers a BA in Architectural Studies, professional master's degrees and research degrees.

Architecture programs researched: 4. 3 with an accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record checked against the authority’s own listing.

Programs

Each program is listed with its official award, level, pathway classification, delivery and published tuition. Accreditation, fees, language and entry requirements belong to the program, not to the whole institution.

Bachelor’s degrees

  • Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies

    Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies [BA(AS)]Bachelor’sPre-professionalAccreditation / validation verified

    On campusfour-year programmeEnglishFaculty of Architecture, Knowles Building (Pokfulam)

    HK$49,500per year

Master’s degrees

  • Master of Architecture

    Master of Architecture (MArch)Master’sProfessionalAccreditation / validation verified

    On campustwo-year full-time programmeEnglishFaculty of Architecture, Knowles Building (Pokfulam)

    Tuition not published

  • Master of Architecture (Design)

    Master of Architecture (Design) [MArch (Design)]Master’sProfessionalAccreditation / validation verified

    On campusthree-year full-time programmeEnglishFaculty of Architecture, Knowles Building (Pokfulam)

    Tuition not published

Doctoral programs

Campuses and facilities

Places where teaching actually happens. Studio, workshop, fabrication and computing facilities are stated per campus, only as published.

  • Faculty of Architecture, Knowles Building (Pokfulam)

    4/F, Knowles Building, The University of Hong Kong, Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong, Southern District, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

    Facilities not described on the pages we checked.

Published research areas

As published by the institution.

  • PhD research track: History and Theory

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded per program and campus, with the authority’s role. Accreditation, professional validation, degree-awarding authority and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration, and a qualification accepted in one jurisdiction is not automatically accepted elsewhere.

  • Master of Architecture

    Verified in official recordHong Kong Institute of Architects (HKIA) and Architects Registration Board of Hong Kong (ARB) - joint accreditationProgram accreditationFull statusHK

    Scope: HKU Master of Architecture (2-year), listed by HKIA/ARB as a professional degree; accreditation years as printed: 1961 to 2027

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027

    The specific program is accredited by an accrediting body, for the campus, dates or cohorts stated.

  • Master of Architecture (Design)

    Verified in official recordHong Kong Institute of Architects (HKIA) and Architects Registration Board of Hong Kong (ARB) - joint accreditationProgram accreditationConditional statusHK

    Scope: HKU Master of Architecture (Design) (3-year), professional degree, 2022 to 2027, listed as a Conditional Term of Accreditation

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027

    The specific program is accredited by an accrediting body, for the campus, dates or cohorts stated.

  • Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies

    Verified in official recordHong Kong Institute of Architects (HKIA) and Architects Registration Board of Hong Kong (ARB) - joint accreditationProgram accreditationFull statusHK

    Scope: HKU Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies, listed by HKIA/ARB as a pre-professional degree, 1961 to 2027

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027

    Further requirements: Graduates must further complete a professional degree programme recognized by HKIA/ARB to be eligible for the HKIA/ARB Professional Assessment.

    The specific program is accredited by an accrediting body, for the campus, dates or cohorts stated.

  • Master of Architecture

    Stated by the schoolHong Kong Institute of Architects (HKIA) / Architects Registration Board (ARB) - school accreditation status statementProgram accreditationFull statusHK

    Scope: HKU Master of Architecture degree programme, 2-year professional architectural programme

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027

    Further requirements: School page says the next HKIA/ARB visit for continuing accreditation is scheduled in 2027/2028 (TBC).

    The specific program is accredited by an accrediting body, for the campus, dates or cohorts stated.

  • Master of Architecture

    Stated by the schoolRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK

    Scope: HKU Master of Architecture, as printed in the programme's professional-accreditation list

    A professional body has validated the course against its criteria. Validation is not the same as statutory registration.

  • Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies

    Stated by the schoolRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK

    Scope: HKU BA(AS), as printed in the programme's professional-accreditation list

    A professional body has validated the course against its criteria. Validation is not the same as statutory registration.

Sources and verification