Master’s degree
Master of Architecture
The University of Hong Kong · Department of Architecture, Faculty of Architecture · Southern District, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
- Official award
- Master of Architecture (MArch)MArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for Hong Kong
- Format
- On campustwo-year full-time programme
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year professional Master of Architecture at HKU built around design studios, core courses in structures, sustainability and practice, electives, and a self-directed design thesis.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Department of Architecture, Faculty of Architecture
- Awarding body
- The University of Hong Kong
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- HKIA/ARB list the HKU Master of Architecture as a professional degree; graduates become eligible for the HKIA/ARB Professional Assessment.“Master of Architecture Professional degree 1961 2027”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- No
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates become eligible to apply as HKIA Members and Registered Architects upon passing the HKIA/ARB Professional Assessment in Hong Kong.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | two-year full-time programme | – | Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies of HKU or an equivalent qualification accepted for this purposeSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordHong Kong Institute of Architects (HKIA) and Architects Registration Board of Hong Kong (ARB) - joint accreditationProgram accreditationFull statusHK
Scope: HKU Master of Architecture (2-year), listed by HKIA/ARB as a professional degree; accreditation years as printed: 1961 to 2027
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027
Stated by the schoolHong Kong Institute of Architects (HKIA) / Architects Registration Board (ARB) - school accreditation status statementProgram accreditationFull statusHK
Scope: HKU Master of Architecture degree programme, 2-year professional architectural programme
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027
Further requirements: School page says the next HKIA/ARB visit for continuing accreditation is scheduled in 2027/2028 (TBC).
Stated by the schoolRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: HKU Master of Architecture, as printed in the programme's professional-accreditation list
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- two-year full-time programme
- Thesis or dissertation
- Self-directed design thesis in the final semester of the Design Studio course.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Faculty of Architecture, Knowles Building (Pokfulam)4/F, Knowles Building, The University of Hong Kong, Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- The fetched programme pages do not state the language of instruction; the admissions page asks applicants who did not study in an English-taught university for TOEFL or IELTS.
- Published language requirements
- IELTS or TOEFL for applicants whose institution did not teach and examine in English; tests taken within two years prior to 1 September of each admissions year.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredNo more than 30 pages, PDF, landscape.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Studies of HKU or an equivalent qualification from another comparable institution accepted for this purpose
- Documents
- CV, official transcripts, portfolio, statement of interest (500 words), two referees.
- Deadlines
- Application deadline: 12:00 noon (GMT+8), 4 January 2027
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)