University
Harvard University
School: Harvard Graduate School of Design, Department of Architecture
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Overview
Private research university; its Graduate School of Design (GSD) houses the Departments of Architecture, Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning and Design and offers professional and post-professional master's degrees and doctorates.
Architecture programs researched: 5 (plus 2 adjacent-subject programs). 2 with an accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record checked against the authority’s own listing.
Programs
Each program is listed with its official award, level, pathway classification, delivery and published tuition. Accreditation, fees, language and entry requirements belong to the program, not to the whole institution.
Master’s degrees
Master of Architecture I AP (advanced standing)
Master of Architecture (MArch I AP)Master’sProfessionalAccreditation / validation verified
On campustwo-and-one-half years; minimum of five terms in residenceEnglishCambridge campus (Gund Hall)
$64,000per year
Master of Architecture I
Master of Architecture (MArch I)Master’sProfessionalAccreditation / validation verified
On campus3.5 years; minimum of seven terms of full-time study in residence including thesisEnglishCambridge campus (Gund Hall)
$64,000per year
Master of Architecture II
Master of Architecture (MArch II)Master’sPost-professional
On campusminimum of four terms of full-time study in residenceEnglishCambridge campus (Gund Hall)
$64,000per year
Doctoral programs
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Architecture, Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning
Doctor of PhilosophyPhDResearch
On campusEnglishCambridge campus (Gund Hall)
Tuition not published
$64,000per year
Adjacent subjects (not architecture degrees)
Master in Landscape Architecture I
Master in Landscape Architecture (MLA I)Master’sNot classifiedLandscape architecture
On campusEnglishCambridge campus (Gund Hall)
$64,000per year
Master of Architecture in Urban Design (MAUD)
Master of Architecture in Urban DesignMaster’sPost-professionalUrban design
On campustwo-year (four-semester) programEnglishCambridge campus (Gund Hall)
$64,000per year
Campuses and facilities
Places where teaching actually happens. Studio, workshop, fabrication and computing facilities are stated per campus, only as published.
Cambridge campus (Gund Hall)
Gund Hall, 48 Quincy Street, Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Facilities not described on the pages we checked.
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded per program and campus, with the authority’s role. Accreditation, professional validation, degree-awarding authority and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration, and a qualification accepted in one jurisdiction is not automatically accepted elsewhere.
Master of Architecture I
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture (listed by the school as M.Arch I and M.Arch I AP). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2026-12-31.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2026
The specific program is accredited by an accrediting body, for the campus, dates or cohorts stated.
Master of Architecture I AP (advanced standing)
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture (listed by the school as M.Arch I and M.Arch I AP). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2026-12-31.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2026
The specific program is accredited by an accrediting body, for the campus, dates or cohorts stated.
Sources and verification
How this profile was verified
Facts come from the institution’s own pages and from official registers, each with a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Last checked 19 October 2026. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)