Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Architecture I

Harvard University · Harvard Graduate School of Design, Department of Architecture · Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of Architecture (MArch I)M.Arch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United States
Format
On campus3.5 years; minimum of seven terms of full-time study in residence including thesis
Tuition
$64,000per year, 2026-27

About this program

NAAB-accredited professional M.Arch for applicants without prior design-profession study, with a required design thesis and seven terms in residence.

Intended audience: Individuals with a bachelor's degree in a field other than the design professions, or with a pre-professional design major.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Harvard Graduate School of Design, Department of Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
The school lists the M.Arch (non-pre-professional degree route) among its NAAB-accredited programs; NAAB directory lists Harvard M.Arch as accredited.“offers the following NAAB accredited degree programs: Master of Architecture (non-pre-professional degree + 105 graduate credit hours on the NAAB scale)”Source
Previous architecture degree required
No
Applicants without an architecture degree
Yes
Further professional requirements
After the degree a candidate must complete an internship in an architectural office and pass a registration examination.Source
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
No prior architecture degree needed3.5 years–four-year BA or BS in any fieldSource

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Master of Architecture (listed by the school as M.Arch I and M.Arch I AP). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2026-12-31.

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2026

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
3.5 years; minimum of seven terms of full-time study in residence including thesis
Campus attendance
A minimum of seven terms of full-time study in residence, including thesis, is required.
Thesis or dissertation
students are required to prepare a design thesis
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Cambridge campus (Gund Hall)Gund Hall, 48 Quincy Street

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published
Academic prerequisites
One semester of calculus; one semester of physics; two semesters of history of architecture (B- or better).
Deadlines
  • Application deadline January 5, 2027, 5:00 p.m. ET

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
GSD master's tuition (Master's Budget, except MRE; 2 semesters per academic year)Tuition$64,000per year, 2026-27All students19 October 2026Source
GSD application feeApplication fee · mandatory$90one-time, current cycleAll students19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, portfolio requirement.

Sources and how this was checked