Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Architecture I AP (advanced standing)

Harvard University · Harvard Graduate School of Design, Department of Architecture · Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of Architecture (MArch I AP)M.Arch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United States
Format
On campustwo-and-one-half years; minimum of five terms in residence
Tuition
$64,000per year, 2026-27

About this program

Advanced-standing route of the NAAB-accredited M.Arch for holders of a pre-professional architecture or environmental design bachelor's degree.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Harvard Graduate School of Design, Department of Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
The school lists the M.Arch AP route among its NAAB-accredited programs.“Master of Architecture AP (pre-professional degree + 75 graduate credit hours on the NAAB scale)”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Yes
Applicants without an architecture degree
No
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)2.5 years–pre-professional four-year BA/BS with a major in architecture or environmental designSource

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Master of Architecture (listed by the school as M.Arch I and M.Arch I AP). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2026-12-31.

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2026

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
two-and-one-half years; minimum of five terms in residence
Campus attendance
must complete a minimum of five terms of full-time study in residence
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Cambridge campus (Gund Hall)Gund Hall, 48 Quincy Street

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published
Deadlines
  • Application deadline January 5, 2027, 5:00 p.m. ET

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
GSD master's tuition (Master's Budget, except MRE; 2 semesters per academic year)Tuition$64,000per year, 2026-27All students19 October 2026Source
GSD application feeApplication fee · mandatory$90one-time, current cycleAll students19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, portfolio requirement.

Sources and how this was checked