Independent school of architecture
Architectural Association School of Architecture
School: Architectural Association School of Architecture
London, United Kingdom

Overview
Independent London school of architecture, one of the oldest in the UK, offering a five-year RIBA/ARB architecture course, taught postgraduate programmes and a PhD, with applications made directly to the school.
Architecture programs researched: 6. 2 with an accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record checked against the authority’s own listing.
Programs
Each program is listed with its official award, level, pathway classification, delivery and published tuition. Accreditation, fees, language and entry requirements belong to the program, not to the whole institution.
Bachelor’s degrees
Intermediate Programme: BA(Hons) in Architecture / RIBA Part 1
BA(Hons) in Architecture / RIBA Part 1Bachelor’sPre-professionalAccreditation / validation verified
On campusThree years, full-timeEnglish36 Bedford Square
Tuition not published
Master’s degrees
Architecture and Urbanism (DRL)
MArch Architecture and Urbanism (DRL)Master’sNot classified
On campus16 months, full timeEnglish36 Bedford Square
Tuition not published
Emergent Technologies and Design
MArch/MSc Emergent Technologies and DesignMaster’sNot classified
On campus12 months, full-time (MSc) or 16 months, full-time (MArch)English36 Bedford Square
Tuition not published
Diploma Programme: Master of Architecture (MArch) and AA Diploma
Master of Architecture (MArch) and AA Diploma / ARB Master's Level, RIBA Part IIMaster’sProfessionalAccreditation / validation verified
On campusTwo years, full timeEnglish36 Bedford Square
Tuition not published
Housing and Urbanism
MA/MArch Housing and UrbanismMaster’sNot classified
On campus12 months, full-time (MA) or 16 months, full-time (MArch); for the 2027–28 academic year both the MA and MArch will be 12 months, full timeEnglish36 Bedford Square
Tuition not published
Doctoral programs
Tuition not published
Campuses and facilities
Places where teaching actually happens. Studio, workshop, fabrication and computing facilities are stated per campus, only as published.
36 Bedford Square
36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES, Bloomsbury, London, Greater London, England, United Kingdom
Facilities not described on the pages we checked.
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded per program and campus, with the authority’s role. Accreditation, professional validation, degree-awarding authority and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration, and a qualification accepted in one jurisdiction is not automatically accepted elsewhere.
Diploma Programme: Master of Architecture (MArch) and AA Diploma
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Program accreditationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture (MArch)/AA Diploma and the AA Final Examination (ARB Master's Level/RIBA Part 2), accredited from 8 June 2026
Dates: 8 June 2026 to not stated
The specific program is accredited by an accrediting body, for the campus, dates or cohorts stated.
Intermediate Programme: BA(Hons) in Architecture / RIBA Part 1
Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 1 BA (Hons) Architecture and the AA Intermediate Examination
A professional body has validated the course against its criteria. Validation is not the same as statutory registration.
Diploma Programme: Master of Architecture (MArch) and AA Diploma
Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2 Master of Architecture (MArch)/AA Diploma and the AA Final Examination
A professional body has validated the course against its criteria. Validation is not the same as statutory registration.
Intermediate Programme: BA(Hons) in Architecture / RIBA Part 1
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: BA (Hons) Architecture and the AA Intermediate Examination (ARB/RIBA Part 1), ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027
The qualification is recognised as meeting the educational requirement toward registration in the stated jurisdiction. Full registration also needs the other steps the authority lists.
Sources and verification
How this profile was verified
Facts come from the institution’s own pages and from official registers, each with a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Last checked 19 October 2026. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)