Bachelor’s degree
Intermediate Programme: BA(Hons) in Architecture / RIBA Part 1
Architectural Association School of Architecture · Architectural Association School of Architecture · Bloomsbury, London, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- BA(Hons) in Architecture / RIBA Part 1BA
- Pathway
- Pre-professionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campusThree years, full-time
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Three-year unit-system BA (Hons) in architecture at the AA, years one to three of its five-year course, giving RIBA Part 1.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Architectural Association School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
- Pathway
- Pre-professionalA first stage. The source says further study or a further qualification is needed before registration or licensure.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page describes the three-year programme as years one to three of the five-year course in architecture and as RIBA Part 1.“Three years, full-time (years one to three of the five-year course in architecture)”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Page says that from 31 December 2027 ARB will no longer accredit undergraduate Part 1 programmes.Source
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 1 BA (Hons) Architecture and the AA Intermediate Examination
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: BA (Hons) Architecture and the AA Intermediate Examination (ARB/RIBA Part 1), ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Three years, full-time
- Intakes
- September 2027
- Campus
- 36 Bedford Square36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- Evidence of competency in spoken and written English
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredApplicants submit a digital portfolio and are interviewed online (about 30 minutes).
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- Three A Level passes (grade C or above) and GCSE (grade 4/C or above) in Mathematics and English Language
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Application fee, Application Round OneApplication fee | £75one-time, 2027-28 entry | All students | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Application fee, Application Rounds Two and ThreeApplication fee | £90one-time, 2027-28 entry | All students | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)