Master’s degree
Diploma Programme: Master of Architecture (MArch) and AA Diploma
Architectural Association School of Architecture · Architectural Association School of Architecture · Bloomsbury, London, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Master of Architecture (MArch) and AA Diploma / ARB Master's Level, RIBA Part IIMArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campusTwo years, full time
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year unit-system MArch/AA Diploma (years four and five of the AA's five-year course) leading to the AA Final Examination, ARB master's level and RIBA Part 2.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Architectural Association School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page describes the programme as ARB Master's Level and RIBA Part II, leading to the AA Final Examination.“Master of Architecture (MArch) and AA Diploma / ARB Master's Level, RIBA Part II”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | Two years, full time (years four and five of the five-year course) | – | Completion of the AA Intermediate Programme, or eligible new students who have studied elsewhereSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Program accreditationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture (MArch)/AA Diploma and the AA Final Examination (ARB Master's Level/RIBA Part 2), accredited from 8 June 2026
Dates: 8 June 2026 to not stated
Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2 Master of Architecture (MArch)/AA Diploma and the AA Final Examination
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two years, full time
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- 36 Bedford Square36 Bedford Square, London WC1B 3ES
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)