University
Birmingham City University
School: Birmingham School of Architecture and Design
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Overview
Public university in Birmingham whose Birmingham School of Architecture and Design teaches RIBA-validated architecture degrees.
Architecture programs researched: 2. 1 with an accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record checked against the authority’s own listing.
Programs
Each program is listed with its official award, level, pathway classification, delivery and published tuition. Accreditation, fees, language and entry requirements belong to the program, not to the whole institution.
Bachelor’s degrees
Architecture - BArch (Hons)
BArch (Hons) Architecture (RIBA Part 1)Bachelor’sPre-professional
On campus3 years full time (professional placement year available)EnglishCity Centre Campus
£10,050per year
Master’s degrees
Architecture - MArch
MArch ArchitectureMaster’sProfessionalAccreditation / validation verified
On campus2 years full timeEnglishCity Centre Campus
£10,050per year
Campuses and facilities
Places where teaching actually happens. Studio, workshop, fabrication and computing facilities are stated per campus, only as published.
City Centre Campus
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Facilities not described on the pages we checked.
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded per program and campus, with the authority’s role. Accreditation, professional validation, degree-awarding authority and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration, and a qualification accepted in one jurisdiction is not automatically accepted elsewhere.
Architecture - MArch
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2 MArch, Birmingham School of Architecture
A professional body has validated the course against its criteria. Validation is not the same as statutory registration.
Architecture - BArch (Hons)
Not verifiedArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: ARB lists BA (Hons) Architecture at Part 1; the register wording differs from the BArch (Hons) title used on the course page
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027
Further requirements: Register names a BA (Hons) Architecture; match to the BArch (Hons) course page not confirmed.
The qualification is recognised as meeting the educational requirement toward registration in the stated jurisdiction. Full registration also needs the other steps the authority lists.
Architecture - MArch
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture, Part 2, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028
The qualification is recognised as meeting the educational requirement toward registration in the stated jurisdiction. Full registration also needs the other steps the authority lists.
Sources and verification
How this profile was verified
Facts come from the institution’s own pages and from official registers, each with a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Last checked 19 October 2026. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)