Bachelor’s degree
Architecture - BArch (Hons)
Birmingham City University · Birmingham School of Architecture and Design · Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- BArch (Hons) Architecture (RIBA Part 1)BArch
- Pathway
- Pre-professionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus3 years full time (professional placement year available)
- Tuition
- £10,050per year, 2027/28
About this program
Three-year full-time Part 1 architecture degree at Birmingham City University for September 2027 entry, with an optional professional placement year.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Birmingham School of Architecture and Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
- Pathway
- Pre-professionalA first stage. The source says further study or a further qualification is needed before registration or licensure.
- Why we classify it this way
- The ARB transition guidance says an applicant holding only a UK Part 1 still needs a master's-level qualification (or old Part 2) and a practice qualification.“If you have a UK Part 1 only You will need: An accredited Master’s level qualification that encompasses the Academic Outcomes or an old Part 2 qualification”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- ARB guidance: an applicant with only a UK Part 1 still needs a master's-level qualification (or old Part 2) and a practice qualification.Source
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Not verifiedArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: ARB lists BA (Hons) Architecture at Part 1; the register wording differs from the BArch (Hons) title used on the course page
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027
Further requirements: Register names a BA (Hons) Architecture; match to the BArch (Hons) course page not confirmed.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 3 years full time (professional placement year available)
- Intakes
- September 2027
- Campus
- City Centre Campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- international and EU students will also require IELTS 6.0 overall with no less than 5.5 in each band
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition fee, full time, UKTuition | £10,050per year, 2027/28 | UK | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: £30,150 (Home students). Calculated from published annual tuition for 2027/28 x 3 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes studio, materials, printing, software and other charges.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)