Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Architecture (MArch) (RIBA pt II)

University of Westminster · School of Architecture and Cities · Marylebone, London, England, United Kingdom

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Master of Architecture (MArch) (RIBA pt II)MArch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
Format
On campus2 years full-time (Levels 6 and 7)
Tuition
£10,050per year, September 2027 entry

About this program

Two-year design-led master's that gives exemption from RIBA Part 2 and is prescribed by ARB and validated by RIBA.

Subject
Architecture
Department
School of Architecture and Cities
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
Page states the course is prescribed by ARB and validated by RIBA to give exemption from the second stage of professional education.“prescribed by the Architects Registration Board (ARB) and validated by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) to give exemption from the second stage of professional education”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published
Further professional requirements
Most graduates go on to take the Part III exam to become registered architects.Source
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)2 years–Honours degree in architecture or similar subject (normally Part 1) and substantial relevant work experienceSource

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK

    Scope: Part 2 M.Arch Master of Architecture

  • Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK

    Scope: Master of Architecture, ARB Part 2, Department of Architecture, University of Westminster

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
2 years full-time (Levels 6 and 7)
Intakes
September 2027
Campus
Marylebone Campus

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Published language requirements
IELTS 6.5 with at least 6.5 in writing and no element below 6.0

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requiredAt the interview, applicants should present their academic portfolio together with examples of work undertaken during professional training.
Interview
Interview required
Previous qualification
Upper second (2:1) or lower second (2:2) honours degree in architecture or similar subject, normally RIBA Part 1 validated / ARB prescribed; usually one year post-degree professional experience
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
tuitionTuition£10,050per year, September 2027 entryUK tuition fee (price per academic year)19 October 2026Source
tuitionTuition£19,000per year, September 2027 entryInternational tuition fee (price per academic year)19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: whether a previous architecture degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction