Master’s degree
MArch Architecture (ARB/RIBA Part 2)
University of Plymouth · Plymouth School of Arts, Design and Architecture · Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- MArch Architecture (ARB/RIBA Part 2)MArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus2 years
- Tuition
- £9,790per year, 2026-27
About this program
Two-year Part 2 MArch at Plymouth, fully validated by RIBA and prescribed by ARB, built on studio-led live and semi-live projects.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Plymouth School of Arts, Design and Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page states the programme is fully validated by RIBA and prescribed by ARB.“Study a programme fully validated by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and prescribed by the Architects Registration Board (ARB)”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2 M.Arch, University of Plymouth
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture, Part 2, University of Plymouth, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- 2 years
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Plymouth campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Expected 2:1 degree; lower classifications considered with a good portfolio and 12 months experience in an architect's office or similar
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| tuitionTuition | £9,790per year, 2026-27 | new full-time UK students | 19 October 2026Source |
| tuitionTuition | £10,050per year, 2027-28 | new full-time UK students | 19 October 2026Source |
| tuitionTuition | £18,150per year, 2026-27 | full-time international students | 19 October 2026Source |
| tuitionTuition | £18,700per year, 2027-28 | full-time international students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)