Integrated (single-cycle) qualification
Master of Architecture (5-year, Track I)
University of Kansas · Department of Architecture, School of Architecture & Design · Lawrence, Kansas, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campusStudents typically complete this degree in five years.
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Five-year continuous plan of study combining a bachelor's degree and a professional Master of Architecture, entered directly from high school or as an undergraduate transfer.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Department of Architecture, School of Architecture & Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Integrated (single-cycle) qualificationA single-cycle qualification entered from secondary school that the national system treats as master’s-level. It is not forced into the bachelor’s or master’s lists: the official level and entry route are shown instead.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- KU describes the 5-year M.Arch as a professional, NAAB-accredited pathway; NAAB accreditation recorded separately.“is a professional, NAAB-accredited degree pathway specifically designed for students entering college directly from high school”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- No
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | typically five years | 172 | high school graduates or undergraduate transfers with no prior baccalaureate degreeSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture Track I (five years), Lawrence campus (NAAB Program Directory entry: University of Kansas, Master of Architecture; status "Accredited"; last reaffirmation 2025; next team visit 2033)
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2032
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Students typically complete this degree in five years.
- Credits
- 172 credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Thesis or dissertation
- comprehensive design thesis in the final year
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Lawrence campus (Marvin Hall)1465 Jayhawk Boulevard, Lawrence, KS 66045
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- High school (freshmen) or at least two semesters of full-time undergraduate study (transfers)
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)