Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (2-year and 3-year tracks)
University of Kansas · Department of Architecture, School of Architecture & Design · Lawrence, Kansas, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campustwo-year and three-year pathways
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Professional master of architecture with a two-year track for holders of a pre-professional architecture degree and a three-year track for applicants without a prior architecture degree.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Department of Architecture, School of Architecture & Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- KU describes the M.Arch as a professional graduate program preparing students for licensure; NAAB accreditation recorded separately.“is a professional graduate program designed to prepare students for architectural licensure”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Depends on route
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | two years (Track II) | 63 | pre-professional degree in architectureSource |
| Prior degree in another subject | three years (non-architecture bachelor's degree) | 123 | bachelor's degree in a discipline other than architecture (approximately 123 credits total)Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture Tracks II and III (two-year and three-year), Lawrence campus (NAAB Program Directory entry: University of Kansas, Master of Architecture; status "Accredited"; last reaffirmation 2025; next team visit 2033)
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2032
Stated by the schoolNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: School statement of NAAB accreditation of M.Arch Tracks I and II until 2033 (the NAAB register entry above is the verified record)
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2033
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- two-year and three-year pathways
- Studio requirements
- Studio 804 design-build studio for graduate students in the final year
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Lawrence campus (Marvin Hall)1465 Jayhawk Boulevard, Lawrence, KS 66045
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)