Master’s degree
Architecture MArch (ARB/RIBA Part 2)
University College London · The Bartlett School of Architecture · Bloomsbury, London, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Architecture MArch (ARB/RIBA Part 2)MArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus2 academic years
- Tuition
- £9,790per year, 2026/27
About this program
Two-year design-studio based Part 2 course offering advanced education in design, technology, environment, professional practice, history and theory.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- The Bartlett School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page says it is a professionally accredited Part 2 course and that RIBA/ARB Part 2 is awarded on completion.“Accreditation: RIBA/ARB Part 2 is awarded upon successful completion of the Architecture MArch course.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | 2 academic years | – | Upper second-class degree in architecture; at least one year professional experience expectedSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2 MArch Master of Architecture in Architecture
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture in Architecture, Part 2 prescription; a separate master's-level accreditation is listed from 04 August 2026
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 2 academic years
- Credits
- 240 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- September 2026
- Campus
- Bloomsbury (Bartlett School of Architecture)
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- A minimum of an upper second-class degree in architecture from a UK university or an overseas qualification of an equivalent standard; at least one year of professional work experience expected
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| tuitionTuition | £9,790per year, 2026/27 | UK tuition fees | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| tuitionTuition | £35,400per year, 2026/27 | Overseas tuition fees | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)