Bachelor’s degree
Architecture BSc (ARB/RIBA Part 1)
University College London · The Bartlett School of Architecture · Bloomsbury, London, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Architecture BSc (ARB/RIBA Part 1)BSc
- Pathway
- Pre-professionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus3 academic years
- Tuition
- £9,790per year, 2026/27
About this program
Three-year design-studio based undergraduate architecture degree at the Bartlett, leading to exemption from Part 1.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- The Bartlett School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
- Pathway
- Pre-professionalA first stage. The source says further study or a further qualification is needed before registration or licensure.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page states the degree leads to exemption from Part 1 of the ARB and RIBA examinations, with ARB proposing changes to the path to registration.“successful completion of the Architecture BSc leads to exemption from Part 1 of the Architects Registration Board (ARB) and Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) examinations”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordRIBAProfessional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 1 BSc Bachelor of Science in Architecture, Bartlett School of Architecture
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: BSc Architecture with Honours, Part 1, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 3 academic years
- Intakes
- September 2026
- Campus
- Bloomsbury (Bartlett School of Architecture)
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredPortfolio required upon invitation, at application stage
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- A level AAB; contextual offer BBC
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| tuitionTuition | £9,790per year, 2026/27 | UK tuition fees | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| tuitionTuition | £35,400per year, 2026/27 | Overseas tuition fees | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)