Master’s degree
Architecture MArch
University of Ulster · The Belfast School of Architecture · Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureMArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campusTwo years (Year 1 and Year 2 design thesis)
- Tuition
- £4,985per year, academic year 26/27 entry
About this program
Full-time Part 2 Master of Architecture in Belfast built on vertical studios (the SuperStudio) leading to a final-year design thesis.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- The Belfast School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page says the MArch is accredited by ARB as a Part 2 qualification and validated by RIBA at Part 2.“Accredited by the Architects Registration Board (ARB) for the purpose of a Part 2 qualification.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- ARB guidance: an applicant with UK Part 1 and Part 2 still needs a practice-level qualification (outgoing Part 3) to register.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | Two years (Year 1 and Year 2) | – | Undergraduate architecture degree giving exemption from RIBA/ARB Part 1, at least 2:2 honours or equivalentSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2 MArch View 2025 report (PDF) Birmingham City University
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture in Architecture, Part 2, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two years (Year 1 and Year 2 design thesis)
- Thesis or dissertation
- Year 2 design thesis
- Intakes
- September 2027
- Campus
- Belfast campus
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Undergraduate architecture degree giving exemption from RIBA/ARB Part 1; at least 2:2 honours or equivalent
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland and EU Settlement StatusTuition | £4,985per year, academic year 26/27 entry | Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland and EU Settlement Status | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| England, Scotland, Wales and the IslandsTuition | £9,790per year, academic year 26/27 entry | England, Scotland, Wales and the Islands | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| InternationalTuition | £17,490per year, academic year 26/27 entry | International Fees | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)