Architecture Schools

Bachelor’s degree

Architecture BA (Hons)

University of Ulster · The Belfast School of Architecture · Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Bachelor of Arts with HonoursBA
Pathway
Pre-professionalStated for United Kingdom
Format
On campusStudio-based, full-time, three academic years (exit award of Associated Bachelors after two years)
Tuition
£4,985per year, academic year 26/27 entry

About this program

Three-year full-time studio-based BA (Hons) in Belfast (UCAS K100) giving RIBA/ARB Part 1 exemption.

Subject
Architecture
Department
The Belfast School of Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
Pathway
Pre-professionalA first stage. The source says further study or a further qualification is needed before registration or licensure.
Why we classify it this way
Page says the BA gives exemption from the RIBA/ARB Part 1 examination, the first stage in qualifying as an architect.“The BA degree gives exemption from the RIBA/ARB Part 1 Examination.”Source
Previous architecture degree required
No
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published
Further professional requirements
ARB guidance: an applicant with only a UK Part 1 still needs a master's-level qualification (or old Part 2) and a practice qualification.Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK

    Scope: Part 1 BA (Hons) Architecture Part 2 MArch

  • Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK

    Scope: Bachelor of Arts with Honours in Architecture, Part 1, ARB Schedule 1

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
Studio-based, full-time, three academic years (exit award of Associated Bachelors after two years)
Intakes
September 2027
Campus
Belfast campus

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland and EU Settlement StatusTuition£4,985per year, academic year 26/27 entryNorthern Ireland, Republic of Ireland and EU Settlement Status19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
England, Scotland, Wales and the IslandsTuition£9,790per year, academic year 26/27 entryEngland, Scotland, Wales and the Islands19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
InternationalTuition£17,490per year, academic year 26/27 entryInternational Fees19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: portfolio requirement.

Sources and how this was checked