Architecture Schools

Research doctorate (PhD)

PhD in Architecture & Design Research

Thomas Jefferson University · College of Architecture, Design & Engineering · Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Doctor of PhilosophyPhD
Pathway
ResearchStated for United States
Format
Hybrid4 - 7 Years
Tuition
Not published

Hybrid program

Part of this program is taught in person. It is not described as fully online. Professional pathway status is recorded separately from delivery.

About this program

Research doctorate in architecture and design research offered in three hybrid tracks (standard PhD, practice-based PhD, SMARTlab practice-based PhD) with a focus-area dissertation.

Intended audience: Candidates seeking doctoral research in architecture and design; a practice-based track serves established mid- or later-career practitioners.

Subject
Architecture
Department
College of Architecture, Design & Engineering
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
Pathway
Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
Why we classify it this way
The page describes a dissertation-based research doctorate in which students pursue original research on a chosen focus area.“In this program you will choose a focus area and conduct original research on timely, discipline-specific topics.”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
HybridPart online and part in person (studios, residencies, assessments or placements). A hybrid degree is never described as fully online.
Online instruction
Blended with required campus elements
Campus studio required
Not published
Campus residencies or workshops
SMARTlab track: 9 credits of coursework at University College Dublin with in-person participation three times during the first or second year; other tracks not stated.
Live attendance
Live attendance not published
International enrolment
Not published
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
4 - 7 Years
Credits
48 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Thesis or dissertation
Individualized dissertation phase making a contribution to a specific focus area
Intakes
Not published
Campus
East Falls campus, Philadelphia

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published
Official instructions
Application instructions

Research degree details

Department
College of Architecture, Design & Engineering
Study modes
Three online/hybrid tracks: PhD, Practice-Based PhD, SMARTlab Practice-Based PhD

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction