Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Architecture

Syracuse University · Syracuse University School of Architecture · Syracuse, New York, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of ArchitectureMArch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United States
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

First professional master's for students from any academic background, with advanced standing for holders of architecture degrees; ends in a Directed Research Thesis.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Syracuse University School of Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
Page describes the MArch as a professionally accredited first professional degree program.“The professionally accredited Master of Architecture (MArch) program at Syracuse University provides students with creative, intellectual, and professional experiences suitable for a range of career paths—across design, research, and practice”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Yes
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior degree in another subjectNot published–Baccalaureate degree in any fieldSource
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)Not published–Baccalaureate degree in architectureSource

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Master of Architecture, Syracuse University. NAAB directory status: Accredited. initial accreditation 1945/46; 1974/75; 1983/84; last reaffirmation 2025; next team visit 2033.

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2032

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Syracuse campus (Slocum Hall)

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction