Master’s degree
Architecture (MArch)
The Queen's University of Belfast · School of Planning, Architecture and Civil Engineering · Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
- Official award
- MArchMArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus2 years (Full-time)
- Tuition
- £29,000per year, Academic Year 2027/28 entry
About this program
Two-year full-time Part 2 MArch at Queen's University Belfast for students with a first degree in architecture.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Planning, Architecture and Civil Engineering
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page says the MArch is accredited by ARB and RIBA and leads towards final qualification as a practising architect.“An exciting, creative Master’s degree with accreditation from the ARB and RIBA, for students with a first degree in architecture who wish to progress their studies to final qualification as a practising architect.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- ARB guidance: an applicant with UK Part 1 and Part 2 still needs a practice-level qualification (outgoing Part 3) to register.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | 2 years (Full-time) | – | First degree in architecture, minimum 2.2Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2 MArch Part 3 Postgraduate Certificate in Professional Practice in Architecture
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture, Part 2, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 2 years (Full-time)
- Intakes
- Academic Year 2027/28
- Campus
- Belfast campus
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredA single PDF portfolio of best personal architectural design work, no more than 5MB.
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- First degree in architecture, minimum 2.2
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| InternationalTuition | £29,000per year, Academic Year 2027/28 entry | International | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
Calculated tuition total: £58,000 (International students). Calculated from published annual tuition for Academic Year 2027/28 entry x 2 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes studio, materials, printing, software and other charges.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)