Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Architecture, M.Arch.

New York Institute of Technology · School of Architecture and Design · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of ArchitectureM.Arch.
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United States
Format
On campus2 years to 3 years
Tuition
$1,800per credit, 2026–2027

About this program

Professional master's with a three-year track for applicants with a non-architecture bachelor's degree and a two-year track for holders of a pre-professional degree.

Subject
Architecture
Department
School of Architecture and Design
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
NYIT's M.Arch. page states the program received initial NAAB accreditation.“The Master of Architecture program received initial accreditation from the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) .”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Yes
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior degree in another subject3 years90Bachelor's degree in a discipline other than architectureSource
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)2 years60Pre-professional four-year BS in Architecture/Architectural Technology or equivalentSource

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Master of Architecture, New York Institute of Technology. NAAB directory status: Accredited. initial accreditation 2022; candidacy granted 2017; last reaffirmation 2025; next team visit 2033.

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2032

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
2 years to 3 years
Intakes
Not published
Campus
New York City campus (Manhattan)

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio required
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Graduate per-credit tuition, New York campuses (general graduate rate)Tuition · mandatory$1,800per credit, 2026–2027All students19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous architecture degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked