Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Architecture (M.Arch.)

New Jersey Institute of Technology · New Jersey School of Architecture, Hillier College of Architecture and Design · Newark, New Jersey, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of ArchitectureM.Arch.
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United States
Format
On campus90 credits (shortened with advanced placement)
Tuition
$25,956per year, 2026-2027

About this program

90-credit professional master's for applicants with a non-architecture bachelor's degree, with a shortened advanced-placement route; full-time or part-time.

Subject
Architecture
Department
New Jersey School of Architecture, Hillier College of Architecture and Design
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
Page states the M.Arch. is fully accredited by NAAB and leads towards professional licensure.“is a professional STEM-designated program, fully accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) . The 90-credit program is intended for applicants who have earned a bachelor’s degree in a”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Yes
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior degree in another subjectNot published90Bachelor's degree in a field other than architectureSource
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)Not published–Pre-professional BS/BA in architecture, or non-NAAB B.Arch.Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Master of Architecture, New Jersey Institute of Technology. NAAB directory status: Accredited. initial accreditation 1989; last reaffirmation 2023; next team visit 2031.

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2030

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time, Part-time
Duration
90 credits (shortened with advanced placement)
Credits
90 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Newark campus

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Graduate tuition, full-time (9 credits), two semesters; university-wide graduate figureTuition · mandatory$25,956per year, 2026-2027New Jersey Residents19 October 2026Source
Graduate tuition, full-time (9 credits), two semesters; university-wide graduate figureTuition · mandatory$37,224per year, 2026-2027Non-New Jersey Residents19 October 2026Source
Books & Supplies cost-of-attendance value, architecture graduate studentsMaterials and model-making · optional$2,000per year, 2026-2027All students19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction