Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

MArch Architecture

Manchester School of Architecture (University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University) · Manchester School of Architecture · Manchester, England, United Kingdom

Official award
MArch ArchitectureMArch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
Format
On campus2 years full-time
Tuition
£9,790per year, September 2026 entry

About this program

Two-year Master of Architecture delivered jointly by the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University, full time or part time in person.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Manchester School of Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
The ARB transition guidance says an applicant holding a UK Part 1 and Part 2 still needs a practice-level qualification (outgoing Part 3).“If you have a UK Part 1 and a UK Part 2 You will need a practice level qualification or an outgoing Part 3.”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Yes
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published
Further professional requirements
ARB guidance: an applicant with UK Part 1 and Part 2 still needs a practice-level qualification (outgoing Part 3) to register.Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Program accreditationFull statusUK

    Scope: Master of Architecture, master's-level accreditation from 1 September 2025

    Dates: 1 September 2025 to not stated

  • Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK

    Scope: Part 2 M. Arch Master of Architecture, The Manchester School of Architecture

  • Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK

    Scope: Master of Architecture, Part 2, ARB Schedule 1

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time, Part-time
Duration
2 years full-time
Intakes
2027 entry
Campus
Manchester campuses

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
MArch full-time, UK students (2026 entry, collected by MMU)Tuition£9,790per year, September 2026 entryUK students19 October 2026Source
MArch full-time, international including EU students (2026 entry, collected by MMU)Tuition£32,000per year, September 2026 entryInternational, including EU19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: portfolio requirement.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction