Master’s degree
Architecture (Master of) MArch
Lancaster University · Lancaster School of Architecture · Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Master of Architecture (MArch)MArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campusFull time 1 year, Part time 2 years
- Tuition
- £10,050per year, 2027 entry
About this program
One-year full-time (or two-year part-time) Part II Master of Architecture at Lancaster.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Lancaster School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- The ARB transition guidance says an applicant holding a UK Part 1 and Part 2 still needs a practice-level qualification (outgoing Part 3).“If you have a UK Part 1 and a UK Part 2 You will need a practice level qualification or an outgoing Part 3.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- ARB guidance: an applicant with UK Part 1 and Part 2 still needs a practice-level qualification (outgoing Part 3) to register.Source
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Program accreditationOther statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture, master's-level accreditation from 1 September 2027 (course starts September 2027)
Dates: 1 September 2027 to not stated
Further requirements: Accreditation takes effect from 1 September 2027.
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2: Master of Architecture (MArch), Lancaster University
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Architecture, Part 2, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Full time 1 year, Part time 2 years
- Intakes
- 2027
- Campus
- Lancaster campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- 2:1 (UK Hons) degree or equivalent in architecture or a related discipline
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full time per year, HomeTuition | £10,050per year, 2027 entry | Home | 19 October 2026Source |
| Full time per year, InternationalTuition | £26,300per year, 2027 entry | International | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)