Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (2-3 year post-baccalaureate program)
Kansas State University · Department of Architecture, College of Architecture, Planning & Design · Manhattan, Kansas, Kansas, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campusThe Post-Baccalaureate program requires a minimum of three years of study, including a required summer studio.
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Accelerated professional master of architecture of at least three years for bachelor's degree holders in any field, with advanced standing for pre-professional architecture degree holders.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Department of Architecture, College of Architecture, Planning & Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- The department describes the post-baccalaureate M.Arch as an accredited, professional program.“This accredited, professional program is well-respected”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Depends on route
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior degree in another subject | minimum of three years including a required summer studio | – | bachelor's degree in any fieldSource |
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | advanced standing may waive the first and second semesters | – | 4-year pre-professional architecture degree from a NAAB-accredited schoolSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture (5-year and post-baccalaureate pathways share one NAAB directory entry), Manhattan campus (NAAB Program Directory entry: Kansas State University, Master of Architecture; status "Accredited"; last reaffirmation 2017; next team visit 2026)
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2025
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- The Post-Baccalaureate program requires a minimum of three years of study, including a required summer studio.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Manhattan campus920 North Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Manhattan, KS 66506
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Bachelor's degree in any field
- Academic prerequisites
- College algebra, college physics with lab, expository writing, public speaking, a studio art or design course, and architecture or art history
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Application fee, domesticApplication fee · mandatory | $65one-time, current application cycle (page undated, read 2026-10-19) | Domestic | 19 October 2026Source |
| Application fee, internationalApplication fee · mandatory | $75one-time, current application cycle (page undated, read 2026-10-19) | International | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)