Master’s degree
Architecture (DipArch)
The Glasgow School of Art · The Mackintosh School of Architecture · Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Diploma in Architecture/Masters of Architecture by ConversionMArch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- £1,820per year, Academic Year 2026/27
About this program
Studio-based Part 2 Diploma in Architecture (Stage 4 in Glasgow, Stage 5 in a European city) with exemption from the RIBA/ARB Part II examination.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- The Mackintosh School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page states exemption from Part II of the RIBA/ARB examination.“Exemption from Part II of RIBA/ARB Examination in Architecture.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- ARB guidance: an applicant with UK Part 1 and Part 2 still needs a practice-level qualification (outgoing Part 3) to register.Source
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2 Diploma in Architecture Part 2 Master of Architecture
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Diploma in Architecture, Part 2, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Glasgow campus (Mackintosh School of Architecture)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Diploma in Architecture tuition fee, Scottish (Home) students, 2026/27Tuition | £1,820per year, Academic Year 2026/27 | Scottish (Home) students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Diploma in Architecture tuition fee, International students, 2026/27 (page refers to the undergraduate fee)Tuition | £24,800per year, Academic Year 2026/27 | International Students (all overseas non-UK residents including students from the European Union other that students from the Republic of Ireland) | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)