Architecture Schools

Bachelor’s degree

Architecture (BArch)

The Glasgow School of Art · The Mackintosh School of Architecture · Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Bachelor of Architecture or Bachelor of Architecture with HonoursBArch
Pathway
Pre-professionalStated for United Kingdom
Format
On campusOrdinary degree after 3 years or Honours degree after 4 years; full-time students normally spend a year in practice between Years 3 and 4
Tuition
£1,820per year, Academic Year 2026/27

About this program

Studio-based Bachelor of Architecture (ordinary after three years, honours after four) validated by the University of Glasgow, giving exemption from Part 1 of the ARB/RIBA examination.

Subject
Architecture
Department
The Mackintosh School of Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
Pathway
Pre-professionalA first stage. The source says further study or a further qualification is needed before registration or licensure.
Why we classify it this way
Page says the programme leads to exemption from Part 1 of the ARB/RIBA examination.“exemption from Part 1 of the Examination in Architecture of the ARB/ RIBA at the end of Year 3 full-time study or Year 4 part-time study”Source
Previous architecture degree required
No
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published
Further professional requirements
ARB guidance: an applicant with only a UK Part 1 still needs a master's-level qualification (or old Part 2) and a practice qualification.Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK

    Scope: Part 1 Bachelor of Architecture Part 1 Bachelor of Architecture (Honours)

  • Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK

    Scope: Bachelor of Architecture / with Honours, Part 1, ARB Schedule 1

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time, Part-time
Duration
Ordinary degree after 3 years or Honours degree after 4 years; full-time students normally spend a year in practice between Years 3 and 4
Internship or placement
Full-time students normally undertake a year of practical training in an approved architect's office between Years 3 and 4
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Glasgow campus (Mackintosh School of Architecture)

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
BArch/undergraduate annual tuition fee, Scottish (Home) students, new students 2026/27Tuition£1,820per year, Academic Year 2026/27Scottish (Home) Students19 October 2026Source
Undergraduate annual tuition fee, Rest of UK students, new students 2026/27Tuition£9,790per year, Academic Year 2026/27Rest of UK Students - England, Wales and Northern Ireland (including Channel Isles and Isle of Man) and Students from the Republic of Ireland19 October 2026Source
Undergraduate annual tuition fee, International students, new students 2026/27Tuition£24,800per year, Academic Year 2026/27International Students (all overseas non-UK residents including students from the European Union other than students from Republic of Ireland)19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, portfolio requirement.

Sources and how this was checked