Master’s degree
Master of Architecture
City College of New York · The Bernard and Anne Spitzer School of Architecture · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch.
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus3 years, full-time, 90 credits
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Three-year full-time professional master's open to applicants with a bachelor's degree in any field; no previous architecture experience required.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- The Bernard and Anne Spitzer School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page states the three-year M Arch is a professional architecture degree and NAAB-accredited.“The three-year Master of Architecture program leads to the M Arch — a professional architecture degree.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior degree in another subject | 3 years | 90 | Bachelor's degree in any field plus college-level precalculus and physicsSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture, City College of New York. NAAB directory status: Accredited. initial accreditation 2008; last reaffirmation 2025; next team visit 2033.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2032
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 3 years, full-time, 90 credits
- Credits
- 90 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- City College campus, Harlem
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)