Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Architecture (M.Arch)

Carnegie Mellon University · Carnegie Mellon School of Architecture · Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of ArchitectureM.Arch.
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for United States
Format
On campus2 years (minimum residency of four full-time academic semesters)
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Two-year studio-based professional master's program with design fundamentals, ethics and research tracks.

Subject
Architecture
Department
Carnegie Mellon School of Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
Page states the M.Arch is a NAAB-accredited professional degree program.“The Master of Architecture (M.Arch) is a two-year, NAAB-accredited, professional degree program, to educate tomorrow's leaders in architecture through a collaborative, studio-based education that centers design, research and technology.”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Master of Architecture, Carnegie Mellon University. NAAB directory status: Accredited. initial accreditation 2019; last reaffirmation 2023; next team visit 2031.

    Dates: not stated to 31 December 2030

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
2 years (minimum residency of four full-time academic semesters)
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Pittsburgh campus

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Graduate application fee (School of Architecture)Application fee · mandatory$100one-time, current cycleAll students19 October 2026Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction