Bachelor’s degree
Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch)
Carnegie Mellon University · Carnegie Mellon School of Architecture · Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of ArchitectureB.Arch.
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus5 years
- Tuition
- $69,702per year, 2026-27
About this program
Five-year first professional architecture degree in the School of Architecture, with a studio sequence and technical and professional coursework.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Carnegie Mellon School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree entered after secondary school.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page states the B.Arch is a NAAB-accredited first professional degree.“The B.Arch is a 5-year, first professional degree program accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB). This program is for students that are set upon pursuing a career as”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- No
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | 5 years | – | Admitted without a declared degree program; choose B.Arch or B.A. by end of second yearSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Bachelor of Architecture, Carnegie Mellon University. NAAB directory status: Accredited. initial accreditation 1945/46; last reaffirmation 2018; next team visit 2026.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2025
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 5 years
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Pittsburgh campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate tuition, first-years entering Fall 2026 (university cost table; the page does not list an architecture-specific rate)Tuition | $69,702per year, 2026-27 | First-Years Entering Fall 2026 | 19 October 2026Source |
| Technology fee, undergraduate (university-wide)Other compulsory charge · mandatory | $490per year, 2026-27 | First-Years Entering Fall 2026 | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: $348,510 (All students). Calculated from published annual tuition for 2026-27 x 5 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes studio, materials, printing, software and other charges.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)