Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (onsite)
Boston Architectural College · School of Architecture · Boston, Massachusetts, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campusthree and a half years (as little as two years with transfer credit)
- Tuition
- $1,508per credit, Fall 2026, Spring 2027
About this program
NAAB-accredited first-professional M.Arch taken on campus in Boston, combining coursework with concurrent practice experience.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- The school describes the M.Arch (onsite and online) as an NAAB-accredited first professional program; the NAAB directory lists it as accredited.“Master of Architecture, onsite and online (90 credits and 3,000 practice hours) - accredited since 2001”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Depends on route
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture (listed by the school as onsite and online). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2025-12-31.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2025
Stated by the schoolNew England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)Institutional recognitionFull statusUS
Scope: Institution-wide regional accreditation (not program accreditation).
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- three and a half years (as little as two years with transfer credit)
- Credits
- 90 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Internship or placement
- 3,000 practice hours
- Thesis or dissertation
- a thesis of personal significance and larger value to the community and the discipline of architecture
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Boston campus (Newbury Street)320 Newbury Street
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate tuition per 1.0 creditTuition | $1,508per credit, Fall 2026, Spring 2027 | All Masters Programs | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, model-making, printing, software, equipment, field trips and residencies are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; architecture students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)