University
The University of Edinburgh
School: Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (ESALA)
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Overview
Public university in Edinburgh whose Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (ESALA) teaches RIBA-validated architecture degrees.
Architecture programs researched: 9 (plus 2 adjacent-subject programs). 3 with an accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record checked against the authority’s own listing.
Programs
Each program is listed with its official award, level, pathway classification, delivery and published tuition. Accreditation, fees, language and entry requirements belong to the program, not to the whole institution.
Bachelor’s degrees
Architecture - MA (Hons)
Master of Arts (Honours) in ArchitectureBachelor’sPre-professionalAccreditation / validation verified
On campus4 years (MA)EnglishEdinburgh campus
Tuition not published
Architecture - BA
Bachelor of Arts in ArchitectureBachelor’sPre-professionalAccreditation / validation verified
On campus3 years (BA)EnglishEdinburgh campus
Tuition not published
Architectural History and Heritage - MA (Hons)
MA (Hons) Architectural History and HeritageBachelor’sNot classified
On campus4 yearsEnglishEdinburgh campus
Tuition not published
Master’s degrees
Architecture - MArch
Master of ArchitectureMaster’sProfessionalAccreditation / validation verified
On campus2 yearsEnglishEdinburgh campus
Tuition not published
Advanced Sustainable Design - MSc
MSc Advanced Sustainable DesignMaster’sNot classified
On campus1 yearEnglishEdinburgh campus
Tuition not published
Architectural Conservation - MSc
MSc Architectural ConservationMaster’sNot classified
On campus1 yearEnglishEdinburgh campus
Tuition not published
Doctoral programs
Architectural History - PhD/MPhil
PhD/MPhil Architectural HistoryPhDResearch
On campus2 - 6 yearsEnglishEdinburgh campus
Tuition not published
Architecture - PhD/MPhil/MSc by Research
PhD/MPhil/MSc by Research in ArchitecturePhDResearch
On campus2 - 6 yearsEnglishEdinburgh campus
Tuition not published
Architecture by Design - PhD
PhD Architecture by DesignPhDResearch
On campus3 years (Full time); 6 years (Part time)EnglishEdinburgh campus
Tuition not published
Adjacent subjects (not architecture degrees)
Urban Strategies and Design - MSc
MSc Urban Strategies and DesignMaster’sNot classifiedUrban design
On campus1 year (Full time); 2 years (Part time)EnglishEdinburgh campus
Tuition not published
Architectural and Urban Design - MSc
MSc Architectural and Urban DesignMaster’sNot classifiedUrban design
On campus1 yearEnglishEdinburgh campus
Tuition not published
Campuses and facilities
Places where teaching actually happens. Studio, workshop, fabrication and computing facilities are stated per campus, only as published.
Edinburgh campus
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Facilities not described on the pages we checked.
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded per program and campus, with the authority’s role. Accreditation, professional validation, degree-awarding authority and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration, and a qualification accepted in one jurisdiction is not automatically accepted elsewhere.
Architecture - BA
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 1 Bachelor of Arts in Architecture
A professional body has validated the course against its criteria. Validation is not the same as statutory registration.
Architecture - MA (Hons)
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 1 Master of Arts (Honours) in Architecture
A professional body has validated the course against its criteria. Validation is not the same as statutory registration.
Architecture - MArch
Verified in official recordRoyal Institute of British Architects (RIBA)Professional-body validationFull statusUK
Scope: Part 2 Master of Architecture
A professional body has validated the course against its criteria. Validation is not the same as statutory registration.
Architecture - BA
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Bachelor of Arts in Architecture, Part 1, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027
The qualification is recognised as meeting the educational requirement toward registration in the stated jurisdiction. Full registration also needs the other steps the authority lists.
Architecture - MA (Hons)
Verified in official recordArchitects Registration Board (ARB)Eligibility toward registrationFull statusUK
Scope: Master of Arts Honours in Architecture, Part 1, ARB Schedule 1
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2027
The qualification is recognised as meeting the educational requirement toward registration in the stated jurisdiction. Full registration also needs the other steps the authority lists.
Sources and verification
How this profile was verified
Facts come from the institution’s own pages and from official registers, each with a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Last checked 19 October 2026. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)
- Official website
- RIBA validated schools UK
- Architecture - BA/MA
- Architecture - MArch
- Architecture - PhD/MPhil/MSc by Research
- Architecture by Design - PhD
- Architectural History - PhD/MPhil
- Architectural and Urban Design - MSc
- Advanced Sustainable Design - MSc
- Architectural Conservation - MSc
- Urban Strategies and Design - MSc
- Architectural History and Heritage - MA (Hons)
- ARB Schedule 1