Master’s degree
Masterstudiengang Architektur
Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW) · School of Architecture, Design and Civil Engineering (Departement Architektur, Gestaltung und Bauingenieurwesen) · Winterthur, Zürich, Switzerland
- Official award
- Master of Arts ZHAW in ArchitekturMA
- Pathway
- Not classified
- Format
- On campusVollzeit: 4 Semester; Teilzeit: 6 Semester
- Tuition
- CHF 720per semester, current (as printed 2026-10-19)
About this program
Two-year modular master's in architecture in Winterthur with three studio semesters and a thesis semester, run with the Institutes of Constructive Design and Urban Landscape.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture, Design and Civil Engineering (Departement Architektur, Gestaltung und Bauingenieurwesen)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional status of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the degree name.
- Previous architecture degree required
- Yes
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | Vollzeit: 4 Semester; Teilzeit: 6 Semester | 120 | Bachelorabschluss Architektur (mind. 180 ECTS)Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordswissuniversities (list of Swiss higher education institutions accredited under the Higher Education Act, HEdA)Institutional recognitionFull statusCH
Scope: Institution-wide listing of ZHAW as an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences; not a programme accreditation.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Vollzeit: 4 Semester; Teilzeit: 6 Semester
- Credits
- 120 ECTSCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Studio requirements
- Three studio semesters and a final thesis semester.
- Intakes
- Herbstsemester (KW 38), Frühlingssemester (KW 8)
- Campus
- ZHAW Winterthur (Halle 180, Lagerplatz)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- UNCONFIRMED: the master's page prints no teaching language; German follows the ZHAW bachelor admissions page and should be verified.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredPortfolio submitted with the application (work from studies and practice plus aims).
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- Bachelor's degree in architecture (at least 180 ECTS)
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition feeTuition | CHF 720per semester, current (as printed 2026-10-19) | Studiengebühr | 19 October 2026Source |
| Additional fee for students resident outside Switzerland at start of studiesOther compulsory charge · mandatory | CHF 500per semester, current (as printed 2026-10-19) | Studierende, deren Wohnsitz zu Studienbeginn ausserhalb der Schweiz liegt | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)