Master’s degree
Master of Architecture I
Yale University · Yale School of Architecture · New Haven, Connecticut, United States
- Official award
- Master of Architecture (M.Arch.) IM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campusthree years of full-time residency
- Tuition
- $66,660per year, 2026-27
About this program
Professional M.Arch for students from any undergraduate discipline, with a four-term core studio sequence over three years; accredited per NAAB.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Yale School of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Yale calls the M.Arch I a professional degree program for those seeking a first professional architectural degree; NAAB lists the Yale M.Arch as accredited.“is for students holding undergraduate liberal arts degrees, such as a B.A. or B.S., who seek their first professional architectural degree”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- No
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| No prior architecture degree needed | typically three years of full-time residency | 114 | undergraduate liberal arts degree such as B.A. or B.S.Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture (M.Arch. I), Yale School of Architecture (NAAB program record). NAAB directory status: Accredited; current status term end 2029-12-31.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2029
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- three years of full-time residency
- Credits
- 114 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Studio requirements
- a rigorous and structured four-term core design studio sequence
- Campus attendance
- typically requires three years of full-time residency
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- New Haven campus180 York Street
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredDigital portfolio (single pdf, not to exceed 40MB) required for the M.Arch programs.
- Interview
- Not published
- Tests explicitly required
- GRE required for M.Arch I, M.Arch II and MED applications
- Deadlines
- Applications for programs beginning in the 2027–2028 academic year must be submitted no later than 5 p.m. Eastern Standard Time on January 2, 2027. · 2027-2028 academic year
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| School of Architecture tuition fee (school-level page)Tuition | $66,660per year, 2026-27 | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
| Application feeApplication fee · mandatory | $90one-time, 2027-2028 entry | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: $199,980 (All students). Calculated from published annual tuition for 2026-27 x 3 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes studio, materials, printing, software and other charges.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)