Master’s degree
Master of Architecture
Worcester Polytechnic Institute · Architectural Engineering Program, Department of Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering · Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
- Official award
- Master of Architecture (M. Arch.)M.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus5 years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Professional M.Arch integrating architecture and engineering, entered either through the combined 5-year BS-Architectural Engineering route or by applicants from other fields; NAAB status is candidacy.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Architectural Engineering Program, Department of Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- WPI calls the M.Arch a professional degree program; NAAB lists it as Candidacy (not yet accredited), so graduates are not covered by accreditation unless and until NAAB grants it.“The Master of Architecture (M. Arch.) is a professional degree program that prepares graduates for the practice of architecture.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Depends on route
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | Track 1: combined BS-AREN/M.Arch, expected residency of 5 years | 171 | WPI 4-year BS in Architectural Engineering; admission decided in year 3Source |
| Prior degree in another subject | Track 2: duration depends on previous education and experience | – | baccalaureate degree in other fieldsSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationCandidate statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture, WPI (NAAB program record; candidacy, not accredited). NAAB directory status: Candidacy; current status term end 2025-12-31.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2025
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 5 years
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Worcester campus100 Institute Road
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredWPI Portfolio Submission Guide for the Master of Architecture; typically 10-15 pieces.
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)