Master’s degree
Master of Architecture (M.Arch 3 and M.Arch 2)
Washington University in St. Louis · College of Architecture and Graduate School of Architecture & Urban Design, Sam Fox School · St. Louis, Missouri, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campusM.Arch 3: 6 semesters, 3 years; M.Arch 2: 4 semesters, 2 years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Practice-oriented professional master of architecture with a three-year track for graduates in architecture or other fields and a selective two-year track for applicants with strong architecture backgrounds.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- College of Architecture and Graduate School of Architecture & Urban Design, Sam Fox School
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- WashU states the M.Arch programs lead to a first professional degree and are NAAB-accredited.“Our M.Arch programs lead to a first professional degree for students with either an undergraduate degree in architectural studies, or an undergraduate degree in other disciplines.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Depends on route
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prior degree in another subject | 6 semesters, 3 years (M.Arch 3) | 105 | BA in architecture or other fieldsSource |
| Prior architecture degree (advanced standing) | 4 semesters, 2 years (M.Arch 2; selective entry, advanced placement) | 75 | strong architecture backgroundSource |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture (M.Arch 3 and M.Arch 2), St. Louis campus (NAAB Program Directory entry: Washington University in St. Louis, Master of Architecture; status "Accredited"; last reaffirmation 2018; next team visit 2026)
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2025
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- M.Arch 3: 6 semesters, 3 years; M.Arch 2: 4 semesters, 2 years
- Thesis or dissertation
- culminates in the Degree Project
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- St. Louis campus1 Brookings Drive, St. Louis, MO 63130
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)