Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Architecture

University of Waterloo · School of Architecture · Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of ArchitectureM.Arch
Pathway
ProfessionalStated for Canada
Format
On campustwo-year program
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Two-year M.Arch for applicants from pre-professional architecture programs, with a shorter route for Waterloo BAS graduates.

Subject
Architecture
Department
School of Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
Why we classify it this way
CACB lists Waterloo's M.Arch as accredited (see recognition).“The MArch program has been accredited since 2002.”Source
Previous architecture degree required
Yes
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Prior architecture degree (advanced standing)Not published–Waterloo BAS or equivalent pre-professional degreeSource

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

  • Verified in official recordCanadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB)Program accreditationFull statusCA

    Scope: University of Waterloo M.Arch; accredited since 2002; six-year term after 2024 visit; next visit 2030

  • Verified in official recordCanadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB)Program accreditationFull statusCA

    Scope: University of Waterloo M.Arch; accredited since 2002; six-year term after 2024 visit; next visit 2030 (term)

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
two-year program
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Waterloo School of Architecture (Cambridge)7 Melville Street South, Cambridge, ON

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requiredsingle PDF of no more than 50 pages or 30MB; Waterloo BAS graduates are not required to submit a portfolio
Interview
Not published
Documents
January 15 (for admission in September) - all application documents must be uploaded to Quest by February 1. (year not stated on page)

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction