Research doctorate (PhD)
PhD in Architecture, Landscape, and Design
University of Toronto · John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design · Toronto, Ontario, Canada
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy in Architecture, Landscape, and DesignPhD
- Pathway
- Research
- Format
- On campusprogram time limit is six years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Research doctorate across architecture, landscape and design with a four-year funding package.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- Research doctorate.“The program time limit is six years”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- program time limit is six years
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- St. George campus (Daniels Building)1 Spadina Crescent, Toronto, ON M5S 2J5
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Deadlines
- December 11, 2026: Applications due (applications open October 1, 2026)
Research degree details
- Department
- John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design
- Research themes
- Architectural History and Theory
- Landscape History and Theory
- Building Science/Computation
- Architecture, Health and Society
- Visual Studies
- Finding a supervisor
- The student and supervisor(s) should meet regularly and must meet at least once per year.
- Research proposal
- An approved proposal must be submitted to the director of the PhD program, approved by the supervisory committee, no later than the start of the third year.
- Study modes
- The program time limit is six years.
- Deadlines
- Applications open October 1, 2026; due December 11, 2026
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Base funding commitment Funding
Basis not stated · base funding commitment of $40,000, including tuition and fees · four years of full-time study
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)