Master’s degree
Architecture and Urban Design Course (G30-UDA)
Global 30 Urban Design and Architecture Course
The University of Tokyo · Department of Architecture, Graduate School of Engineering · Bunkyo, Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
- Official award
- Master's degree (Department of Architecture, Graduate School of Engineering)
- Pathway
- Not classified
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- ¥535,800per year, as published (no academic year stated)
About this program
English-language master's course at Hongo for international students, focused on interdisciplinary design research connecting architecture, engineering and computation. Admission is by limited numbers.
Intended audience: International graduate students interested in interdisciplinary design research linking architecture, engineering and computation.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Department of Architecture, Graduate School of Engineering
- Awarding body
- The University of Tokyo
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional status of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the degree name.
- Previous architecture degree required
- No
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Yes
- Further professional requirements
- Japan: for students who entered school from FY2009, first-class architect exam eligibility by education requires graduating after completing the MLIT-designated architecture subjects; whether a given curriculum meets this is not stated on the program page. Practical experience is reviewed at licence registration for those passing from 2020.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Depends on previous study | Not published | – | Open to talented international graduate students; previous architecture education not required but strongly preferred.Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- October 01 (year not stated on page)
- Campus
- Hongo Campus7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo, 113-8656, JAPAN
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- Taught in EnglishAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- Page describes it as a Global 30 'Special English Course'; teaching language of every module is not itemised.
- Published language requirements
- TOEFL / IELTS scores
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- International graduate-level applicants
- Tests explicitly required
- GRE-General scores required
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual tuitionTuition · mandatory | ¥535,800per year, as published (no academic year stated) | All students | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Examination feeApplication fee · mandatory | ¥10,000one-time, as published (no academic year stated) | All students | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Enrollment feeOther compulsory charge · mandatory | ¥282,000one-time, as published (no academic year stated) | All students | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, portfolio requirement, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)