Research doctorate (PhD)
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD Thesis: Architecture)
University of Technology Sydney · Faculty of Design and Society · Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD Thesis: Architecture)PhD
- Pathway
- ResearchStated for Australia
- Format
- On campusMaximum 4 years full-time or 8 years part-time
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Research doctorate in architecture by thesis at the University of Technology Sydney.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Faculty of Design and Society
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- Research degree awarded for original investigation.“through original investigation”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Maximum 4 years full-time or 8 years part-time
- Intakes
- Research session 1 (Commencement from January), Research session 2 (Commencement from July)
- Campus
- UTS City campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- UTS recognised master's by research or bachelor honours degree (first or second class division 1) or equivalent
Research degree details
- Residency expectations
- Work may be carried out on university premises, at an external site, or both
- Deadlines
- We accept applications for research degrees across the year.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)