Architecture Schools

Master’s degree

Master of Philosophy (Architecture, Design and Planning)

The University of Sydney · School of Architecture, Design and Planning · Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of Philosophy (Architecture, Design and Planning)MPhil
Pathway
Not classifiedStated for Australia
Format
On campusFour semesters full time (two years) or eight semesters part time (four years)
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Research master's in the School of Architecture, Design and Planning covering architectural design, history and theory, architectural science, design and urbanism.

Subject
Architecture
Department
School of Architecture, Design and Planning
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.

Degree level
Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
Pathway
Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional status of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the degree name.
Previous architecture degree required
Not published
Applicants without an architecture degree
Not published

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.

No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time, Part-time
Duration
Four semesters full time (two years) or eight semesters part time (four years)
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Camperdown/Darlington campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Bachelor's degree, generally a four-year degree or a three-year degree with honours in a relevant discipline

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction