Research doctorate (PhD)
Doctor of Philosophy (Architecture, Design and Planning)
The University of Sydney · School of Architecture, Design and Planning · Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy (Architecture, Design and Planning)PhD
- Pathway
- ResearchStated for Australia
- Format
- On campusUsually three years full time or six years part time (part time for domestic students only)
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Research doctorate in the School of Architecture, Design and Planning; examined on a thesis of 50,000 to 80,000 words.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- School of Architecture, Design and Planning
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate focused on architecture (PhD, Dr.-Ing. and equivalents).
- Pathway
- Research degreeA research degree. It does not qualify anyone to practise as an architect.
- Why we classify it this way
- The PhD is awarded for an original thesis, so it is a research degree.“is awarded for a thesis that is a substantial and original contribution to the discipline.”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
No accreditation, validation or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Usually three years full time or six years part time (part time for domestic students only)
- Thesis or dissertation
- Thesis of 50,000 to 80,000 words
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Camperdown/Darlington campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Master's degree with a research component, or a bachelor's degree with first or second-class honours; admission on outstanding innovative practice is also mentioned
Research degree details
- Department
- School of Architecture, Design and Planning
- Research themes
- architectural design
- architecture history and theory
- architectural science
- design
- urbanism
- Previous qualifications
- Master's degree with a research component, or bachelor's degree with first or second-class honours
- Study modes
- Three years full time or six years part time; part time for domestic students only
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, printing, software, equipment and field-trip costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous architecture degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)