Master’s degree
Master of Architecture
University of Pennsylvania · Stuart Weitzman School of Design, Department of Architecture · Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
- Official award
- Master of ArchitectureM.Arch.
- Pathway
- ProfessionalStated for United States
- Format
- On campus29 course units
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Professional master's, typically three years for applicants with a major in architecture and longer for others; not open to holders of a five-year B.Arch.
- Subject
- Architecture
- Department
- Stuart Weitzman School of Design, Department of Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. A degree title such as B.Arch, BA, BSc, M.Arch or MSc does not decide it, and no degree by itself grants permission to practise as an architect.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Entry requirements differ widely: some accept graduates of any subject, others require a prior architecture degree.
- Pathway
- Professional pathwayThe program itself is a professionally accredited or validated degree in the stated jurisdiction, as shown by the source quoted on the page. Further steps are normally still required before registration.
- Why we classify it this way
- Page states the M.Arch. is a professional degree accredited by NAAB.“The Master of Architecture degree is a professional degree accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB). Its rigorous curriculum prepares graduates to become leaders in architectural practice, design research”Source
- Previous architecture degree required
- Not published
- Applicants without an architecture degree
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional recognition, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and eligibility toward registration are different things; none of them is full professional registration.
Verified in official recordNational Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Master of Architecture, University of Pennsylvania. NAAB directory status: Accredited. initial accreditation 1969/70; last reaffirmation 2024; next team visit 2032.
Dates: not stated to 31 December 2031
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 29 course units
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Philadelphia campus (Weitzman School of Design)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredA digital portfolio is required for the Master of Architecture.
- Interview
- Not published
- Deadlines
- January 6, 2027: application deadline for the Master of Architecture, MS in Architecture, MSD-AAD, MSD-EBD and MEBD group (2027 enrollment) · 2027 enrollment
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Application feeApplication fee · mandatory | $80one-time, 2027 enrollment | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous architecture degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)